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Flying Combat

These rules apply to both air vs. air and ground vs. ground.

Flying combat does not follow the combat procedure's regular method for determining first attacks.
Instead, combat happens on each “pass” the flyer makes, which is determined by its speed and
maneuverability class.

On a pass, attacks are resolved in order of weapon length, as though resolving a charge. This is not
actually a charge though, unless the flyer is diving. So do not grant a MV increase or a +2 to hit, nor
should AC be reduced.

When making a pass, unlike with ground combat, flyers are not “breaking off from melee” as they go
by, so they are not subject to free attacks at +4.

Some creatures such as the dragon can use less of their melee attacks than usual when making a
pass, as per their description. However, some monsters also gain special abilities when flying, such as
the dragon's breath ability noted on that page.

Charging

Seem to be no direct official rules on this. The following is being playtested:

Flying creatures (and those under the fly spell, etc.) can charge once a turn as normal. However, they
must have reached full speed. If their maneuverability class indicates they take a period of time to
reach full speed, that speed must have been reached by the end of a previous round in order to be
able to charge.

Creatures merely levitating cannot charge.
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