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Charging

Rules for charging are on DMG 66. Note that encumbered creatures cannot charge. Charging is a type
E action in the combat procedure.

Outdoors

MV bonus when charging outdoors is only 33.33%, compared to the 100% bonus when indoors.
Quadrupeds get a 50% bonus outdoors instead."”

Failing due to engagement

If a combatant declares a charge (E) but ends up unable to charge due to becoming engaged in melee
before the charge, the charge does not happen at all (no attack on this round from charge, no +2, no
AC penalty).

From within melee

Can be done, but has the same downsides as disengage-retreat - enemies in melee each get a free
rear+stunned attack against the charger, since the charger is breaking melee recklessly.

Without intent to strike

A charge can be performed to obtain the once-per-turn extra movement even if the charger will not
end up engaged or attack at the end of the movement.

Long explanation of attack order and setting weapons

When a charge brings a charger into melee range (1“), attacks are resolved in order of weapon length
only. At this point, before attacks are rolled, creatures who were brought into melee by the charge
can, at their option, use one of their attack routines to attack a charger. Counterattacking a charge is
NOT a free attack in the same way attacking a disengage-retreating or fleeing enemy is. The
creatures who were brought into melee by the charge must have an unused attack routine in order to
spend it. Furthermore, they must have a weapon ready - they can't be surprised, casting a spell,
stabilizing a 0-HP'd ally, using a wand of conjuration, or similar. Ranged weapons always fire first
when being charged into, because the “length” of ranged weapons is always longer than melee
weapons. The full RoF of the weapon is allowed vs the charge.”

In the DMG's list of actions, strike blows is G. Set weapon vs charge is F. They are two separate
actions. A character attempting F must win initiative vs a charge (E) in order to be set against it. On a
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tie, the weapon will not be set because charge is E, which resolves before F. Receiving the charge
with F procs the special abilities certain weapons have, such as the spear and glaive, as indicated by
footnotes on the weapon table. If initiative is lost, the target(s) of the charge can still counterattack as
above, at their option. But the weapon's special abilities provided by F will not proc.

1)

DMG 66.

2)
At our table, we allow the full RoF for these missile weapons for simplicity, though | know some tables

only allow one shot every 2 segments, or treat a shot as a full attack routine, and at these tables the
shooter may not be able to get their full RoF off before melee is joined.
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